The Message of Writer’s Block

Writer’s Block is when a writer sits down to write but nothing comes out. Now some people claim that it doesn’t exist and or that you just have to plow through it no matter what. I don’t agree with those arguments as I believe writer’s block is a message.

For me, when I’m having trouble writing I know that I’m butting up against something I don’t want to deal with. That ‘something’ can be a place I fear, a place that hurts to go to, or just a problem I’m having with the story or writing project I’m currently working on.

So let’s take a look at these three possible sources of writer’s block.

Years ago, I read a biography of the writer Anne Rice in which she said that sometimes you have to go to the places that you fear the most. For a writer, these aren’t literal places but places in the mind. But they can generate fear, and fear is a powerful instinct that most people react to by retreating from instead of going forward. For a writer, I believe a moment of retreat is allowed to examine the root of that fear. For example, is it a fear of rejection or a fear that someone will hate your work that keeps you from writing? If so, you’ll have to figure out a way to counter that. With these fearful places, you have to figure out what’s behind your fear of them before you can move forward.

Sometimes writing can be a form of therapy, which can be both good and bad. The bad part can bring on that blocked feeling because the first reaction to pain is to retreat from it. Personally when I hit on this, which for me manifests itself as a nasty combination of anger and sadness, I know I have to let it run its’ course before I can get back to my writing. And one way I let it run its’ course is to write about it with no intention of anyone ever seeing it. To me, this type of block has to be vented out in order to move past it.

Now the last type of writer’s block, the problem with my story or project, is the most common for me. This is something I can deal with by just taking some time to let my mind work through the problem, or going back and reading what I’ve written and editing as I read along. For me, going back through what I’ve read is one of the best ways I can combat being blocked.

So I believe writer’s block is real, but also something that can be worked through. Sometimes it won’t be easy to decode the message behind the block, but once you do break the code and figure it out, then you’ll know what to do.

One thought on “The Message of Writer’s Block”

  1. possibly (and I’ve read and reviewed the Rice autobiography) but writer’s block can also be a realization that I no longer want to write, no one wants to read what I write and the effort is too much, and somebody else, somewhere, had said, or will say it, more concisely, prettier, better. Writing is an act of faith. When that’s gone we can’t sing along.

    Like

Leave a Reply

