The Writer as Editor

writereditorjpg

I recently asked myself a question: can a writer be a good editor?

My answer was a resounding ‘yes’ as I believe writing and editing go hand in hand.

So, how do you approach editing as a writer?

First, don’t beat yourself up or call yourself ten grades of idiot just because you need to edit your work. No one, and I repeat, no one writes a perfect first draft. The best work is written and rewritten and edited to within an inch of its’ life. The amount of work can vary at times but in the end, there’s always room for improvement.

Second, take your time when editing. I start off with a read-through and edit whatever I catch on that first pass, which are usually missing words and overly-wordy structures. In this first pass I see what I want to do with the piece and where I need to go with it.

Third, if you want to make sure your work flows well, read it out loud. And when you read it out loud, focus on reading every word and making sure it doesn’t get tangled up when you read it. Because if I can’t read it out loud without getting my tongue tangled up in a knot, a reader will have the same problem when reading it.

A good piece of writing flows well not only with the words themselves and how they are put together, but how well you convey what you’re trying to write about in the first place. For example, we know this piece is about editing but what if I went off on a tangent about how poor writing still gets published? That would be an opinion about what I feel is a lack of editing, but it’s not what I want to talk about here. So, finding those off-topic tangents and editing them out is another form of editing that you must work at, too.

So, how do you know when something is ready to publish or share? For me, it’s when I don’t make any changes after countless read-throughs. But it’s also about listening to my intuition and reaching the point where I know I’ve done the best I can. Because sooner or later, your work must go out into the big, bad world on its’ own. The most you can do is prepare your writing with the best editing you can do, and make sure your work stays true to yourself.

Michele Sayre

3 thoughts on “The Writer as Editor”

  1. Well said, Michele, especially about reading our work out loud. I’ve caught a lot of problems with flow when reading aloud. My wife is also an excellent editor for me (we met in a writer’s group years ago). One thing to remember about critiques from anyone else, though, is it’s only their opinion. We as the authors have the final say…or, at least until an agent or editor at a publishing house gets hold of it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

